Account Login/Registration

Access KelownaNow using your Facebook account, or by entering your information below.




Privacy Policy

European Union bars US travelers as COVID-19 cases surge

While Canadians will soon be permitted to cross the borders of countries in the European Union, their American counterparts will continue to be barred.

In a decision announced on Tuesday, EU governments extended a travel ban for US residents, deeming the American response to the coronavirus pandemic insufficient.

Case numbers have been surging in the US for much of June, now owning the world's worst coronavirus outbreak with nearly 2.6 million people confirmed infected and over 126,000 dead.

The EU judgment, recommends that visitors only be allowed into the bloc from countries where the average number of infections per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks.

<who> Photo Credit: John Hopkins.

Along with Canadians, residents of 14 countries such as Australia, New Zealand, Japan and South Korea are now permitted to enter EU countries.

Visitors from China will also be allowed to enter the EU, but only so long as China reciprocates the offer.

For more information on global case rates for COVID-19, click here.

We are asking for your support of local journalism. If you like what we do and believe it has value that adds to our community, we would appreciate your consideration. Please click here to learn more about how you can support local journalism.

Visit our Facebook page to comment on this story.

Sign up for local eNews delivered to your inbox by 7 am every day.

Send your comments, news tips, letter to the editor, photos and videos to

To report a typo, send an email to







Top Stories

Follow Us

Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Linkedin Follow us on Youtube Listen on Soundcloud Follow Our RSS

Quick Links