Account Login/Registration

Access KelownaNow using your Facebook account, or by entering your information below.




Privacy Policy

Finalists Revealed for 2015 Okanagan Arts Awards

The creativity of the Okanagan is about to be honoured.

The finalists have now been announced for the 8th annual Okanagan Arts Awards, which recognize local artists, art supporters, and organizations for their commitment and excellence. The Arts Council of the Central Okanagan includes 14 categories with various disciplines: Visual Arts, Theatre, Dance, Music, Literary, Design, Media Arts, Graphic Arts, Culinary, Supporter of the Arts, Arts Educator, Arts Organization, and Youth and Lifetime Achievement.

Rotary Arts Centre. (Photo Credit: KelownaNow)

This year’s nominees are below:

Central Okanagan Foundation Arts Association Award

Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art
Enderby Artists Initiative
Okanagan Archive Trust Society. Brian Wilson

Arts Educator

Alexandra Babbel (Kelowna)
Delphine Derickson (Westbank)
Nancy Holmes (Kelowna)
Randy Leslie (Kelowna)


Nick Growing (Kelowna)
Michael Lyon (Kelowna)


Get Bent School of Belly Dance and Performing Arts (Penticton)
Jordan McAlpine (Kelowna)
Shani Wendell (Lake Country)


Avante Kiosks (Okanagan Falls)
Kaitlan Murphy (Revelstoke)

Graphic Arts

David MacCoubrey (Penticton)
Kyle Poirier (Kelowna)
Mishell Raedeke (Kelowna)

Literary Arts

Patricia Ainslie (West Kelowna)
Jennifer Schell (Kelowna)
Dona Sturmanis (Kelowna)

Media Arts

Chris Stenberg (Penticton)
K.A.S.P. Entertainment (Penticton)


Dennis Colpits (Kelowna)
Ben Klick (West Kelowna)
Ernst Schneider (Penticton)

Supporter of the Arts

Lynda Norman (Kelowna)
Tatianna O’Donnell (Enderby)
Shelly Vida (Kelowna)


Asparagus Community Theatre (Armstrong)
David Kopp (Kelowna)
Many Hats Theatre Co. (Penticton)

Visual Arts

Glenn Clark (Penticton)
Jolene Mackie (Kelowna)
Chris Malmkvist (Lake Country)


Kelsie Balehowsky (Kelowna)
Nikolas Filipiric (Penticton)
Cynthia Leigh-Ann (Kelowna)

The ceremony for the awards is Saturday, March 28th at the Rotary Arts Centre. The opening reception starts at 6 p.m. while the award presentations and concert begin at 7 p.m. The concert will have a variety of performances, which will then be followed by an after party in the same place. All winners of the Okanagan Art Awards will get a hand carved sculpture by Kamloops artist Dennis Cound.

You can get tickets for the 2015 Okanagan Art Awards for $40. These tickets are available online or at the Rotary Centre’x box office at 421 Cawston Avenue. Phone for ticket info at 250-717-5304.

Support local journalism by clicking here to make a one-time contribution or by subscribing for a small monthly fee. We appreciate your consideration and any contribution you can provide.








Top Stories

Follow Us

Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Linkedin Follow us on Youtube Listen on Soundcloud Follow Our RSS
Privacy Policy